Posted in Dessert

Mango (Coconut) Panna Cotta

dsc_3933

Who can resist when you see  the picture in the warm weather like this? I can’t, I get easily tempted to try on. The weather is fluctuating in Southern California, during the day is warm but it’s chilling at night. My bad habit is browsing internet to find photos of mouthwatering foods/drink to satisfy my craving, so when I saw this similar kind of photos I was so curious to make this one. Since I already had experience to make panna cotta so I won’t feel overwhelmed to try this.

Oh ya, if you are curious to make two layers like picture above, I use this video as reference. Not as hard as I thought.

 The Coconut panna cotta recipe you can find Coconut panna cotta with berries sauce. This time I used mango instead of berries since I am curious to try this recipe. I used my coconut panna cotta recipe and incorporate with mango gelee from http://www.yummyoyummy.com/2015/04/mango-vanilla-pannacotta.html

Ingredients:

For Coconut Panna Cotta (for 6-8 servings)

  • 1 Can coconut milk; 400 ml. You can also substitute with heavy cream
  • 300 ml milk
  • 80 gr sugar
  • 3/4 tsp agar-agar powder

 

Direction for making Coconut Panna Cotta:

  1. Place coconut milk, milk, sugar and agar-agar powder in the medium pot.
  2. Stir then rest for 10 minutes
  3. Bring the ingredients to gentle simmer. Let it slightly cool
  4. Pour into serving glasses
  5. Refrigerate for 4- 6 hours

For Mango Gelee (for 6-8 serving)

  • 1,5 cup of puree mangoes (from very ripe mangoes)
  • 2-3 tbsp sugar
  • 1,5 tsp gelatin
  • 2 tbsp cold water

 

Directions For Mango Gelee:

  1. Sprinkle 1,5 tsp gelatin over 2 tbsp water
  2. Mix puree mangoes with sugar in medium pot with low heat, simmer until sugar dissolves, the mango mixture is just hot (do not boil as the gelatin will not set)
  3. Add gelatin to the mixture and stir well. Allow to cool completely.
  4. Pour in the coconut panna cotta that already set. Refrigerate for 3 – 4 hours.
  5. Garnish with chopped mangoes and mint leaves.

 

If you’re afraid to fail making two layers like above,you can just make simple one like below

 

dsc_3945

Personally, I prefer coconut panna cotta served with berries sauce, I like the combination between the richness from panna cotta and the tangy from berries sauce. Maybe next time, if I want to make Mango Panna Cotta, I will substitute coconut milk with half and half so it won’t too rich. My husband and my daughter like this dessert so it worth my time to cook for them.

Author:

A woman, a wife and a mother who loves peace, nature and taking pictures

11 thoughts on “Mango (Coconut) Panna Cotta

Leave a Reply

