Posted in Dessert

Yummy !!! Blueberry bar

Winter makes me so unmotivated to do stuffs, including blogging. This is my first winter after living in the tropical country for 6 years which is Singapore ! It’s always sunny and warm there.

I made this dessert for first time in last November, I was skeptical when I made this bar that no one in my family will like it. Both my husband and my daughter are chocolate lover!. Well, I was like if they don’t like this bar. I would have them all by myself.

It turned out, my husband loves it. He ate the bars just like eating cookies and I said “slow down, honey. Leave some for me, please”. Glad I had some and it was so goooddd !!!

I have this dessert many times and never failed to my tastebuds, yummy !!!

dsc_5163

Let’s get cooking then you’ll decide whether you like this or not (hope you’ll like it)

Ingredients

For Blueberry mixture/layer

  • 2 cups of fresh blueberries
  • 2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar

For Bottom layer

  • 1 1/4 cup of flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 10 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar

Instructions :

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degree fahrenheit, Line an 8×8 inch square baking pan with aluminium foil leaving an overhang on each side and grease with butter or cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. To make blueberry mixture/layer, in a medium bowl toss together all ingredients (blueberry, cornstarch,lemon zest, lemon juice and sugar). Do it gently so the blueberry will not break, set aside.
  3. In a separate large bowl whisk together the butter, flour, 1/2 cup granulated sugar & baking powder. Cut in the butter & egg yolk using a pastry cutter or fork until the mixture is crumbly and resembles wet sand. Press about two thirds to three quarters of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan and pack it down tightly with your hands. Pour the blueberry mixture over top.
  4. To the remaining flour mixture, cut in the brown sugar and remaining 1 tablespoon of granulated sugar. Crumble the remaining dough over the blueberry mixture by squeezing it in a fist with your hand, then crumbling it over the mixture.
  5. Bake in the oven for about 45 minutes, until you see the blueberries bubbling and the crumble layer starting to turn golden. Allow to cool fully to room temperature . Then lift the bars out of the pan using the aluminium foil overhang and cut into squares. I cut mine into 9 large bars.

I found the recipe on : www.justsotasty.com

dsc_5167-1

Author:

A woman, a wife and a mother who loves peace, nature and taking pictures

Leave a Reply

